page contents Zounds - The Redemption Of Zounds | All The Madmen

All The Madmen

Zounds - The Redemption Of Zounds

Sold out.

Since their early 1980s heyday, and despite endless offers to record and tour, Zounds only ever played intermittently. Songwriter and lead singer Steve Lake is notoriously reclusive, he will only rarely be persuaded to come out and play. The 10 songs written for this follow up to The Curse Of Zounds! retain all the hall marks of the classic template; incisive lyrics, sharp guitars, satirical overtones, emotional terror and great, memorable tunes. Yet it sounds totally at home in a modern world that, Steve claims, ‘is as bewildering, absurd, tragic and joyful as it ever was’. Steve is 2000 years old!

The current line up is Steve Lake – guitar, Paul ‘overdose' O’Donnell – bass, Paul Gilbert –drums. All the boys sing like angels and play like demons.

 Side 1.

1. Cry Genie Cry

2. Supermarche

3. Make Love Not war

4. Another Roadside Attraction

5. What Makes A Man A Man Today (Slight Return)                                                                                   

Side 2.

1. What Is It Worth

2. Damage

3. Follow The Money

4. Deportee

5. Waiting For The Clampdown Honey